Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Class-flipper Romance


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16069030-the-winner-s-curse
The Winner's Curse, Maree Rutkoski
I really really like the characters in this story, and found the first book in this series to be a serious page-turner, despite finding the initial set-up a little off and the historical exposition a tad clunky.  I was sucked in by good writing and enjoyable dialogue.



The Winner's Crime, Marie Rutkoski
Oh, how this sequel pained me!  AH!   I was happy to spend more time with characters I cared about, and the book was goooood (if it makes me hurt for them, surely it is!), but it wasn't as compelling as the first.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29102857-the-winner-s-kiss

The Winner's Kiss, Marie RutkoskiThe torture continues; the delayed grat is very real!  This is a punchy finish to the story with some added depth to the world and politics.  I really like some choices these characters make, but cannot comment further without spoiling.  This book is the first to contain a euphemistic sex scene in the three.  All have violence.


You'll see a different set of covers on GoodReads (gag).   I prefer these (the second the least though).
This series is a good pick-me-up for fans of The Selection and Throne of Glass.
Related Posts with Thumbnails